In the state of South Carolina, your license may be under suspension or revocation as a result of committing a variety of different types of criminal offenses or traffic violations. However, it is most commonly the result of committing an alcohol-related offense, such as driving while under the influence (DUI). The penalties for DUI are harsh. Losing your driving privileges can have a lifelong negative impact on your life. If you or a loved one has been caught driving with a suspended license after a DUI conviction, it is imperative to contact an experienced Chesterfield County DUI Lawyer who can help you navigate the complexities of the charges brought against you as well as defend your rights.
What are the penalties for driving with a suspended license after a DUI conviction in South Carolina?
In South Carolina, if you operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08%, you will be charged with DUI. As mentioned above, one of the potential penalties for this offense is license suspension or revocation. Essentially, you will lose your driving privileges temporarily or permanently. During the time your license is under suspension or revocation, you are not allowed to operate your vehicle. In some states, if you are caught driving with a suspended license after a DUI conviction, it is considered a felony offense. However, in South Carolina, if you are caught driving with a suspended license after a DUI conviction, it is considered a misdemeanor offense. This type of criminal offense carries significant penalties. The possible repercussions for this type of offense vary in severity depending on whether you have any previous convictions for this offense. If this is your first offense, you will be faced with a $300 fine and a possible 10-30 days jail sentence. If this is your second offense, you are looking at a raised fine of $600 and a possible 60 days-6 months consecutive jail sentence. If this is your third subsequent offense, you will face a hefty fine of $1,000 and a possible 6-month jail sentence. After a DUI conviction, if your license is under suspension or revocation, you must wait until that period expires to operate your vehicle to avoid these serious penalties.
In the unfortunate event that you or someone you love has been charged with a misdemeanor offense for driving with a suspended license after a DUI, reach out to one of our trusted and determined team members. This is a serious offense, it is important to retain the legal services of an experienced lawyer who can represent your interests in court to help you achieve a favorable outcome. Our firm is committed to helping our clients navigate this difficult situation. Allow our firm to fight on your behalf today!