Chesterfield County DUI Lawyer

Chesterfield County DUI Lawyer

Being convicted of driving under the influence can seriously inhibit a person’s freedom, as license revocations, jail time, and more, are all on the table. For this reason, if you’re facing DUI charges in South Carolina, the time to speak with an experienced Chesterfield County DUI lawyer is now. Contact the Cockrell Law Firm, P.C. today to learn more about DUI charges in SC and how we can help you fight yours.

Do I Need a Chesterfield County DUI Lawyer?

Those who are found to have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or greater will most likely face DUI charges. That said, you should also note that even if you are observed to have a BAC between .05% and .08%, you may still receive a DUI in South Carolina. The penalties for a DUI in South Carolina can result in a license suspension, jail time, and more, which is why if you are currently facing DUI charges, you simply cannot afford to proceed without the assistance of a knowledgeable Chesterfield criminal defense attorney. Fortunately, you’ve come to the right place.

First-Offense DUI Penalties

The first thing you should understand about DUIs, regardless of whether it’s your first, second, third, fourth, or subsequent offense, is that the greater your BAC at the time of your arrest, the harsher the consequences you will face. For example, for a first-offense DUI with a BAC of less than .10%, you will most likely face the following consequences:

  • Up to 30 days of incarceration
  • A $400 fine
  • A 6-month driver’s license revocation

That being said, if you were arrested with a BAC between .10% and .16%, you will face the following consequences:

  • Up to 30 days of incarceration
  • A $500 fine
  • A 6-month driver’s license revocation

For a BAC of .16% or higher, you will face the following:

  • Up to 90 days of incarceration
  • A potential $1,000 fine
  • A 6-month driver’s license revocation

Second-Offense DUI Penalties

Once you are arrested for a second DUI offense, the penalties start becoming even harsher. For a second-offense DUI with a BAC of less than .10%, you will face the following consequences:

  • Up to 1 year of incarceration
  • A $5,100 fine
  • A 1-year driver’s license revocation

You may face the following penalties for a second-offense DUI with a BAC of between .10% and .16%:

  • Up to 2 years of incarceration
  • A $5,500 fine
  • A 1-year drive’s license revocation

Finally, for a second-offense DUI with a BAC of higher than .16%, you can expect the following:

  • Up to 3 years of incarceration
  • A $6,500 fine
  • A 1-year driver’s license revocation

Third-Offense DUI Penalties

A third DUI with a BAC of less than .10% will result in the following penalties:

  • Up to 3 years of incarceration
  • A $6,300 fine
  • A 2-4 year driver’s license revocation

A third DUI with a BAC between .10% and .16% in South Carolina will warrant the following:

  • Up to 4 years of incarceration
  • A $7,500 fine
  • A 2-4 year driver’s license revocation

If you are arrested with a third DUI with a BAC of higher than .16% you will most likely face:

  • Up to 5 years of incarceration
  • A $10,000 fine
  • A 2-4 year driver’s license revocation

Fourth or Subsequent DUI Penalties

Though most people are not accused of driving while under the influence four times in their lives, it does happen, and South Carolina courts will not be forgiving if you’re one of them. You should also note that though most DUIs are considered misdemeanor crimes, fourth and subsequent DUIs are considered felonies. For a fourth DUI with a BAC of less than .10%, you will face the following penalties:

  • Up to 5 years of incarceration
  • Permanent driver’s license revocation

For a fourth DUI with a BAC between .10% and .16%:

  • Up to 6 years of incarceration
  • Permanent driver’s license revocation

For a fourth DUI with a BAC of higher than .16%:

  • Up to 7 years of incarceration
  • Permanent driver’s license revocation

CDL DUI Penalties

If you are someone who operates a commercial vehicle for a living, such as an 18-wheeler, you are held to even stricter standards here in South Carolina. For example, you only need a BAC of .04% or higher to receive a DUI as a commercial driver in SC. For a first-offense DUI with a CDL, you will face a one-year commercial driver’s license suspension. For a second DUI with a CDL, you will most likely lose your commercial driver’s license permanently.

Potential Defenses Against DUI Charges

As you can see, receiving a DUI can be a life-altering event, which is why you should speak with a Chesterfield County DUI lawyer as soon as you can after being charged. Our firm can use a wide variety of potential defenses to combat your charges, depending, of course, on the circumstances of your arrest. Some of the most common defenses against DUI charges are as follows:

  • You were unlawfully stopped by the arresting office
  • The officer had no probable cause to search your vehicle
  • The officer’s breathalyzer wasn’t properly calibrated or was otherwise dysfunctional
  • The officer improperly administered breath or field sobriety tests

These are just some of the potential defenses available to our firm. The sooner you reach out, the sooner we can analyze your case and determine the best defense going forward.

Chesterfield County DUI Lawyer

A DUI is not to be taken lightly here in South Carolina. That said, our firm has helped countless clients facing DUI charges of varying severities over the years, and we are ready to help you as well. If you’ve been charged with a DUI, you should contact the Cockrell Law Firm, P.C. today to schedule your free initial consultation with our competent legal team.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

Read Our Latest Blogs

Read More Blogs

What are the Possible Consequences for a Second-Offense DUI in South Carolina?

This blog uncovers the charges you may be facing for a second-offense DUI conviction in the state of South Carolina and how…

Who is at Fault for Dangerous Sidewalk Conditions in South Carolina?

Follow along to discover who is at fault for dangerous sidewalk conditions and how a Chesterfield County premises liability lawyer can help.