Chesterfield County Assault Defense Lawyer

Chesterfield County Assault Defense Lawyer

Whether you’ve been charged with simple assault or first-degree assault, you need an experienced Chesterfield County assault defense lawyer on your side. Contact the Cockrell Law Firm, P.C. today to learn more about how we can help you.

Chesterfield County Assault Defense Lawyer | Protecting Your Rights

An assault conviction can affect a person for years, even if he or she was only charged with simple assault. This is why it is always best to proceed with a knowledgeable Chesterfield criminal defense lawyer who has significant experience handling assault charges in South Carolina.

Simple Assault Vs. Second-Degree Assault Charges in SC

A person will face simple assault charges if they are accused of attacking someone without causing serious bodily injury and without the use of a weapon. If you are found guilty of simple assault, which is a misdemeanor, you may face a $500 fine and a potential 30-day jail sentence.

On the other hand, if you are accused of attacking a person and causing them to sustain moderate bodily injury, or the attack otherwise could have caused moderate bodily injury, you will face a second-degree assault charge, which can warrant a potential $2,500 fine and a three-year period of incarceration. You should also note that the unwanted touching of another person’s private parts can also warrant second-degree assault charges.

First-Degree Assault Charges & Beyond

First-degree assault, as well as Assault and Battery of a High and Aggravated Nature, are the two harshest assault-related charges a person in South Carolina can face. If you are charged with first-degree assault, you will face a potential fine, as well as up to 10 years of incarceration. You will most likely face first-degree assault charges if you committed an act of assault that caused serious bodily injury to another or if the assault involved non-consensual touching of the person’s private parts. Assault and Battery of a High and Aggravated Nature charges are the most severe assault charges a person can face and can warrant up to 20 years of incarceration.

Potential Defenses Against Assault Charges

Fortunately for many who are accused of an act of assault, depending on the circumstances surrounding their case, there may be certain defenses available. For example, our firm may work to prove that you were either acting in self-defense or the defense of another. In other cases, we can prove that the assault charge was the result of a simple misunderstanding. The bottom line, however, is that if you are charged with assault, you can’t proceed without a competent Chesterfield County assault defense lawyer on your side.

Contact a Chesterfield County Assault Defense Lawyer

Anyone facing assault charges in South Carolina needs an experienced attorney who will fight, tooth-and-nail, to protect their rights. Contact the Cockrell Law Firm, P.C. today to schedule your free initial consultation with our aggressive legal team.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

Read Our Latest Blogs

Read More Blogs

How Will Posting on Social Media Hurt My Personal Injury Claim?

Follow along to understand how posting on social media will hurt your claim and how a Chesterfield County personal injury lawyer can…

What Makes a Premises Liability Claim Valid in South Carolina?

To you, it might be as plain as day that a property owner or manager’s conduct led to you being injured. However,…