A domestic violence accusation can tear a family apart and ruin the accused person’s life forever, which is why if you are facing such charges, you need a Chesterfield County domestic violence defense lawyer in your corner. Contact the Cockrell Law Firm, P.C. today to learn more about how we can assist you.
Should I Hire a Chesterfield County Domestic Violence Defense Lawyer?
No one should face charges of domestic violence on their own. The state of South Carolina seeks to harshly punish all those accused of domestic violence, and they will do so if you don’t retain competent legal representation. You need a knowledgeable Chesterfield criminal defense lawyer on your side.
Domestic Violence in South Carolina Defined
The state of South Carolina defines domestic violence as committing an act of violence against a household member. A “household member,” under South Carolina law, is defined as any of the following parties:
- Former spouses
- People who have a child together
- People of the opposite sex who either live together or have lived together
What Happens if Someone Calls About an Act of Domestic Violence?
When someone calls the police and tells them a household member has committed an act of domestic violence against them, the officer can arrest the individual either with or without a warrant, as long as the officer has probable cause to believe the act occurred. If the officer sees the alleged victim has bruising or another injury, he or she is required to arrest the accused individual.
Consequences of Domestic Violence Charges in South Carolina
The penalties a person may face for a domestic violence conviction depend on the circumstances and severity of the act of abuse, as well as whether the person has been convicted of domestic violence in the past. The penalties for domestic violence in South Carolina are as follows:
- First Offense: A misdemeanor, which may warrant a fine between $1,000 and $2,500, as well as up to 30 days of incarceration.
- Second Offense Within 10 Years: A misdemeanor, which may warrant a fine between $2,000 and $5,000, as well as a mandatory 30-day jail sentence, and up to one year of incarceration.
- Third Offense Within 10 Years: For a third or subsequent offense, you will face felony charges that can warrant up to five years of incarceration.
You should also note that a domestic violence conviction will result in you having a restraining order placed against you, and you may have to complete a batterer’s treatment program (if this is your first offense). You should note that if you violate the terms of a restraining order, you risk additional jail time and high fines. Additionally, if you are convicted of an act of domestic violence of a high and aggravated nature, you can face up to 10 years of incarceration.
Contact a Chesterfield County Domestic Violence Defense Lawyer
Domestic violence charges are taken very seriously in South Carolina, and if you’re facing them, you can rely on a Chesterfield County domestic violence defense lawyer here at the Cockrell Law Firm, P.C. to fight for you. Contact us today so we can get started.