Commercial Driver’s License DUI in South Carolina | What You Must Know

If you face CDL DUI charges, please read on, then contact an experienced Chesterfield County DUI lawyer to learn what you should know about a commercial driver’s license DUI in South Carolina.

What constitutes a commercial driver’s license DUI in South Carolina?

The state of South Carolina does not tolerate those driving under the influence, especially those who drive for a living. If you hold a commercial driver’s license in the state of South Carolina, the legal Blood Alcohol Content limit is 0.04%, not 0.08%. The law expects higher standards from commercial drivers and so the penalties are that much harsher.

What penalties do you face for a commercial driver’s license DUI in South Carolina?

The penalties for driving under the influence of alcohol will depend on the number of times, if any, you have previously sustained convictions for this offense and your level of intoxication. If a driver sustains a conviction for having at least a 0.10% or higher Blood Alcohol Content or refuses a breath test, he or she will face additional penalties like ineligibility for a provisional license. If you had a Blood Alcohol Content of 0.15%, you can expect the harshest penalties. The penalties for driving drunk with a commercial driver’s license are as follows:

1st offense commercial driver’s license DUI:

  • Minimum 1-year revocation of your commercial driver’s license, 3 years if you were transporting hazardous materials
  • 90 days to 1 year in county jail
  • $400 to $1,000 in fines

2nd offense commercial driver’s license DUI:

  • Lifetime revocation of your commercial driver’s license
  • 5 days to 3 years in a county or municipal jail
  • $2,100 to $5,100 in fines

As you can no doubt see, the penalties for driving while intoxicated with a commercial driver’s license are quite steep. As such, you should reach out to a skilled Chesterfield criminal defense lawyer to discuss your next steps.

What can a Chesterfield County DUI lawyer do for you?

As we have outlined above, any conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol with a commercial driver’s license can cost you dearly. The state of South Carolina is unforgiving and prosecutors will do everything in their power to punish you. But you may have cause for hope. A qualified legal professional will know if authorities have violated your rights and respond accordingly. If nothing else, our firm will inform you of the strengths and weaknesses of your case. Do not go it alone. Give us a call today.

CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED SOUTH CAROLINA FIRM

Our legal team has significant experience helping clients through a wide array of legal matters, including those involving criminal law, personal injury law, divorce & separation, and family law. For competent and trustworthy legal counsel, simply contact The Cockrell Law Firm, P.C. today to schedule your free initial consultation with our legal team.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

Read Our Latest Blogs

Read More Blogs
 

What to Know About Annulment in the State of South Carolina

Although difficult to prove, there are a few bases for annulment in the state of South Carolina that can support your case. With this,…

 

What You Should Know About 18-Wheeler Accidents in South Carolina

If you or a loved one were injured by an 18-wheeler, please read on, then contact an experienced Chesterfield County auto accident lawyer to…