Alexander Pope once said, “To err is human.” Unfortunately, some errors are also criminal offenses according to the state of South Carolina. If you face charges of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, please read on, then contact an experienced Chesterfield County DUI lawyer to learn if you will lose your car after a DUI in South Carolina.
What are the consequences of a DUI in South Carolina?
If you are driving and your blood alcohol content is 0.08% or above, then you are in violation of South Carolina law. For this type of driving under the influence charge, it does not matter whether you are still able to drive safely. If your blood alcohol content exceeds the legal limit, this alone will establish your criminal culpability. If a court convicts you of driving under the influence of alcohol you face the following:
- A fine of up to $400 ($992 with assessments and surcharges)
- Imprisonment from 48 hours to 30 days
- Suspension of your driver’s license for six months
- A fine of $2,100 to $5,100
- Imprisonment from 5 days to 1 year
- Suspension of your driver’s license for 1 year
Third or subsequent offense:
- A fine of $3,800 to $6,300
- Imprisonment from 60 days to 3 years
- Suspension of your driver’s license for 2 years
Can your car be taken away after a DUI?
Yes, it can. Operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, if the third or subsequent offense occurs within 10 years of the first offense, will result in authorities confiscating the vehicle, if the offender owns or resides in the household of the owner.
How can a Chesterfield County DUI lawyer help you?
Reaching out to a skilled Chesterfield criminal defense lawyer to discuss your next steps can make all the difference in the severity of the penalties you will incur. You are innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt or guilty plea. Within 30 days of a DUI arrest, you and your lawyer may request an administrative hearing to challenge the driver’s license suspension for a breath test refusal or a blood alcohol content reading of 0.16 or greater. Keep in mind, that a conviction for driving under the influence or driving with an unlawful alcohol content can’t be expunged. And so, it is in your best interests to fight it. Let us do that for you. Do not go it alone. Give us a call today.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED SOUTH CAROLINA FIRM
Our legal team has significant experience helping clients through a wide array of legal matters, including those involving criminal law, personal injury law, divorce & separation, and family law. For competent and trustworthy legal counsel, simply contact The Cockrell Law Firm, P.C. today to schedule your free initial consultation with our legal team.